Han Learns to Build a Boat – Jim Michalak's Mayfly 14

…. and with no prior knowledge/experience in woodworking, boat building and sailing

Wales completed

I came back from CES in Las Vegas last Friday and completed the wales over the weekend.

First thing I did was to reasonably trim the excess side panels using a flush cut saw and a block planer; basically fixing the outcome of my crappy jigsaw skill.

Trimming off the excess side panel.

Trimming off the excess side panel.

Then, I gave a nice rounding to the outer wale edges with a router for better esthetics and easier glass taping if I do end up going that direction.

Both port and starboard side inner/outer wales are attached with epoxy+fairing fillet for easy sanding later; also about 20 stainless screws were used.

Wales attached

Wales attached

Edges rounded

Edges rounded

In fact, now I am thinking that it is probably better to add outer wales after the decks are attached. That way, you can get the edge of the deck aligned to the outer edge of the inner wale more easily.

I got my chine logs scarfed and glued today, so I am hoping to have them attached this week.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on January 11, 2015 by in Building, Wales.