Han Learns to Build a Boat – Jim Michalak's Mayfly 14

…. and with no prior knowledge/experience in woodworking, boat building and sailing

Leeboard and Upper Leeboard Guard

Shaping the leeboard took some effort and patience. I started off with an orbit sander, then eventually I ended up buying a belt sander with a few 40 grit sanding belts.

Leeboard side view

Leeboard side view

Leeboard bottom view

Leeboard bottom view.

The last part left is the upper leeboard guard. This part went smoother than I thought; I was extra careful this time using the jig saw to cut out the slot for the leeboard.

Like I did with the lower leeboard guard, I used the laser leveler to make sure the slot is parallel to the center line of the boat.

Like I did with the lower leeboard guard, I used the laser leveler to make sure the slot is parallel to the center line of the boat.

Pre-fit to check to alignment.

Pre-fit to check to alignment.

Pre-fit to check to alignment.

Pre-fit to check to alignment.

After final shaping and some sanding to smooth the edge.

After final shaping and some sanding to smooth the edges.

All of these parts will be attached once the hull sanding is done and ready for a coat of primer.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on May 21, 2015 by in Building, Leeboard Section.